h1

Happy July 4th

July 4, 2009

When I was a child, I had 3 days a year I used to look forward to. My birthday, Halloween and the 4th of July. Even as I got older it didn’t change. The night before those days I would barely be able to sleep from the anticipation. As time went on and I served this country in not one but two branches of the military in a combat mos (Army and Marines) I found new appreciation for the 4th. Sadly however that is no longer the case. I am beginning to fear that the 4th of July at some point will become one of those forced fake holidays. I say that because I can no longer celebrate the most important aspect of the 4th… Freedom. This country under the guise of protecting us is taking those freedoms that myself and many before me and many right now have fought and are fighting for. Our government is now beginning to dictate how we live our lives. Telling us where we can smoke, what kind of oil we can use to fry our food.. Let me stop right there. Sadly the list is too large to make. All supposedly for our good. I don’t know about you, but I don’t need some government agency to tell me what to do and where. I don’t need you to create more agencies to watch over every aspect of my life. I am a grown ass man and can do that for myself thank you very much. How about instead of worrying about me smoking in a bar (a bar for fucks sake) you go fix our health care system. How about you figure out a way to help the unemployed or the homeless. Your not fooling me. These laws your passing haven’t distracted me from the real problems that face society. Remember how this country was formed and why. I will cut this post short as I am disgusted with having to even write this. The land of the free. Yeah right.

Leave a Reply

